Post Holiday Gratitude

Having a sane, enjoyable, casual holiday gathering with family that love you and accept you exactly as you are is awesome. I am so grateful.

I am so thankful for the connections I have made with people blogging and people reading. It’s been so wonderful connecting and learning from you. And I love that you guys are all over the place–in some of the most beautiful places in the world.

Christmas is coming. I want to enjoy every minute of it. I confess. I love Christmas. I love the way it makes me feel. I love what we are celebrating. I try to stay clear of the commercial trappings in my heart. But I like gifts, and I love to give them. Always have. What can I say? And I love colorful lights flashing in my house and in my yard. It’s celebratory and fun for me. And I love getting out the manger scene. I put it in a different spot for first time in seven years today. I think it looks better in the new spot.

I give thanks for all of my family and friends everyday in some way.

A few of my favorite moments from Thanksgiving:

Morning snooze with daddy

Checking out the "doggie" at the back door

Sister and her honey hanging by the fire

A sunflower discovered

Cousins plopped on the grass together

A little heart to heart

"Baby!"

Grunting along with grandpa

The opposing team

Two sweet monkies

Doggie love

ooohhh--computer

Rockin' grin!

Table time with the cool uncle

He's losing his nose!

Cozy kitty

Dear Family:  Other favorite memories include sister’s yummy gluten-free pineapple stuffing (You and mom are the best! Thanks for the gluten-free fare.), getting in a little shopping with mom and sis just before the sales ended, playing badminton with the guys (Couldn’t have done that with my wrist a year ago. Awesome.), gathering around a warm fire outside while the temps dropped and the sun went down, getting my T.V. dose with a bunch of What Not to Wear episodes, watching Outsourced and laughing with you guys, seeing all of my guys fully absorbed in Star Trek, and witnessing my brother-in-law feeding my niece Thanksgiving dinner and my nephew pancakes and blueberries at IHOP with patience and love. Sweet memories. I love you guys! I have so much to be thankful for.

6 thoughts on “Post Holiday Gratitude

  1. I LOVE What Not to Wear and Star Trek: The Next Generation!

    You photos are awesome! I love photos of kids sleeping with their parents. They are so content next to mom and dad, aren’t they? (Personally, I always felt content with them next to me too.) Thanks for sharing them with us. Also, thanks for being such an awesome inspiration! I have enjoyed learning about you and from you this year.

  2. It was a team effort, wasn’t it? All the preparation behind the scenes made our 3 days together so relaxing. Thanks for all the pictures which helped me experience it again. I know in my heart how wonderful it was and it was great to hear your prince say as you were getting ready to leave, that he enjoyed the chance to relax. Reading your blog and seeing all the pictures you took tells me you had a great time, too. It truly makes a difference to hear you all express your gratitude. Thank you for making the drive and thanks to the older boys for finding ways to entertain themselves. Little guy was so great about sleeping and eating and playing. I look forward to more of your trips to Grandma’s and Grandpa’s house.

  3. I love your pictures. 🙂 What nationality is your husband, if you don’t mind me asking? I find it somewhat ironic that you and I have so much in common. My husband is Filipino. Half Asian babies are just the absolute cutest! Glad you had a good Thanksgiving!

  4. Love the pictures, looks like you had a great time. I love getting together with the family for Thanksgiving and Christmas. We have a new inside dog that was scared of the christmas tree at first, now a week later, she is finally brave enough to walk up to it.

Leave a Reply

