Lyrics Can Be Life Changing

My littlest guy turned one year this week! More about the croissant later.

I have a new post in the works.  I’ve been sitting on it for a week. In the meantime, the words below blessed my heart immeasurably the other morning when I heard them in a song.  So much so that I wanted to find them printed and share them.  I discovered that I had them at home.  My husband and I love music and sometimes I forget which artists we own.  The words were printed on the insert inside a CD.  We feel old school–we have a lot of CDs between the two of us.  I do purchase songs on itunes now.  : )  I love having the lyrics printed on the inside of a CD cover though.  When I was a kid, I loved pulling out the accordion fold insert in my cassette covers and reading through all the lyrics.

May the words penetrate your spirit and bring you joy this day.  These words speak so well of what I believe in my heart and spirit to be true according to what God has said in His Word, the Bible.  Everything that was ever prophesied or promised in His Word has either come to pass, or I believe, will come to pass. Sometimes it’s hard to wrap my human mind around that.

I WILL RISE

There’s a peace I’ve come to know

Though my heart and flesh may fail

There’s an anchor for my soul

I can say, “It is well”

Jesus has overcome

And the grave is overwhelmed

The victory is won

He is risen from the dead

I will rise when He calls my name

No more sorrow, no more pain

I will rise on eagles’ wings

Before my God, fall on my knees

And rise

I will rise

There’s a day that’s drawing near

When this darkness breaks to light

And the shadows disappear

And my faith shall be my eyes

And I hear the voice of many angels sing.

“Worthy is the Lamb”

And I hear the cry of every longing heart,

“Worthy is the Lamb”

You can read more about this in I Thess. 4-13-18 and Revelation 5:12 among many other places in the Scriptures.

Lyrics by Chris Tomlin, Louie Giglio, Jesse Reeves and Matt Maher.  Copyright 2008 worshiptogether.com Songs

4 thoughts on “Lyrics Can Be Life Changing

  1. Love that song!

    …and so very much needed to hear it tonight. I had the worst flare of my life today. This morning when I awakened, it was if every joint in my body had been fractured or torn…excruciating agony. I was alone and had to somehow get to the restroom, drink, eat…survive a few hours until my kids got home. I thought I could slide to floor, but was afraid of falling, and I realized my knees were so swollen and painful that I could not crawl upon them. I warmed up the joints the best I could by moving them while in bed and then just sobbed and screamed through the steps as I crazily hobbled around doing the bare necessities before collapsing. Cried and prayed all day. Now I’m pumped full of steroids and painkiller from an ER visit, and although I hate the side effects–hate to take them–I am just glad at this point that I can type and sit here without agony.

    I’m a minister’s wife, and I believe in healing; I believe in the power of faith, of prayer, but I am crushed in spirit at times by other well-meaning believers who make comments that imply that pain/illness/disease in another believer is the result of lack of faith. One well-meaning gentleman commented on my Facebook today, “I never want to find out that You had a blessing ready to send, but I didn’t have enough faith to ask. So believing in Jesus’ name, Father, please touch Sunny with Your healing hand.” I know he meant well, but it made me feel as if I’m judged not to be receiving my healing blessing because of a lack of faith. Another friend of mine told me not to let it get to me….that to him, faith was evidenced by my strength, courage, and faithfulNESS despite painful and discouraging circumstances.

    But I don’t feel strong…or courageous… I feel small and afraid of an uncertain future path. I put my life in His hands and trust His loving care; I cling to the hope that “I will rise” above this pain, that victory will come again…but when? Come quickly, Lord Jesus! Speak gently. Flow sweetly. Love unconditionally this broken, hurting child.

    • Sunny,

      I hope and I pray that this day is better than the day when you left a comment about your worst flare. It just broke my heart to read your words, Sunny. I don’t know which is worse–your awful pain or the comment that a “well-meaning gentleman” left on your Facebook page. I hate that not only our character is questioned due to this disease, but our relationship with Christ comes under scrutiny too. It cuts deep. Way too deep when you are dealing with a disease that brings unimaginable pain and frustration and you have to rely on your relationship with God more than ever. Who are people to question the strength of our relationship with God in relation to our faith? It makes me mad just thinking about it. I’m praying for you, Sunny. Praying that He returns quickly as well.

Leave a Reply

