My Battle Plan

Happy Mother’s Day!

Mamas everywhere deserve a break today!  Can I get an “AMEN!”?

I pray this offers us encouragement:

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. -Galatians 6:9

May God bless each of you for the millions of unselfish acts you perform every day to pour goodness and love into your children’s hearts and lives.

I’m so touched by the support and kind words from everyone that has read my blog.  Thank you.  And I’m amazed and slightly overwhelmed at how therapeutic it has initially been to unload.  And I’m just getting started.  I’ve sat down to write on a few occasions this past week and I’ve discovered that some days the words aren’t there and I find real comfort in reading other’s blogs.  And other days, the words want to come like a flood–and so do the tears.  There have been a lot of tears this week that just pour out of me and seem to come out of nowhere. Sometimes it’s like–what? again?  But they feel like tears that are coming from deep places that need to be released.  I feel like they have been set in motion by me writing.  I really hope they stop soon.

I saw my podiatrist.  He was wonderful, he took his time with my feet and he didn’t make me feel like a freak for wanting to take a more naturopathic approach at this point.  AND he was happy to sign the form for me.  I told him he was now officially part of my wellness team.  I had to try really hard not to cry when I told him what my rheumatologist had done. But I wanted his two cents about the situation–particularly since he has worked with my Dr. in the past.  He said he really should have signed the form and was surprised by his decision (to be a jerk!), but that I should still give him a second chance since he is trying to treat me with the med.s he thinks are best.  We’ll see.  I’m still undecided about going back.

I want to share what I am doing at this stage in my battle with RA.  Someday, I’d like to get to everything I’ve tried.  I bet many of you would be able to say–been there, done that!  It should really be a list I refer well intending friends and family to if they offer another possible solution or cure.  For example, cherry juice–I have drunk more cherry juice than I would ever like to drink again in my life.  It didn’t help.  And I drank a LOT for a long enough period of time to know whether it was helping or not.

Onward and upward…

Here is what I am doing daily:

Pray

Wobenzyme  (8 tablets in two divided doses)

Buffered Vitamin C/powdered form (6 grams in three divided doses)

Vitamin D (4ooo IU)

Multi vitamin (high quality one created by my naturopath)

Omega 3’s (mega dosing!)

Probiotic (Lactobacillus Plantarum)

Meal replacement (designed to reduce inflammation and aid in repairing the gut)

Aloe Vera gel (I drink a few ounces in morning)

LOTS of water

Organic whole foods diet as much as possible  (But I like my coffee and sweets as much as the next guy!)

Deep breathing and stretching

Twice a week:

Strength training with personal trainer (And boy is she limited with me, folks!  I do almost everything sitting or lying down.)

or

Pilates with personal trainer (Because I wouldn’t do them on my own!)

And last, but not least–my husband and I make an effort to get to bed around 10 pm on weeknights.  Some nights it’s even earlier, which usually prompts my husband to turn to me in bed before we turn out the light and say, “We’re old people. We’re going to bed early.”  To which I have been known to say with a smile, “What do you want to do–go clubbing?”  We both know this is ridiculous for more reasons than one and off the light goes.  Sleep is so critical to repair, which is why I must turn in for the night even though there is so much more I want to share.  It’s way past my bed time!

5 thoughts on “My Battle Plan

  1. Hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day.

    It’s early to bed around my house, too. For many years I would lay down and hold kids when I tucked them into bed – and fall asleep myself! My husband always figured that if I was that tired, I needed the sleep and would just leave me there. Then I’d awaken around midnight and move into my own bed. Now that the kids don’t ask to be held every night I usually go to bed between 9:30 and 10; my husband stays downstairs to sleep through the 10:00 news, then he joins me. 🙂 Sleep is important!

    • Thanks, WarmSocks. Reading your words brought back memories of my three oldest boys when they were much younger. I cherish those moments. I would fall asleep with them too. Sometimes at nap time during the day. That was the best! I try to get a nap in when my littlest guy goes to sleep these days. But it just doesn’t ever seem to happen much. Unless my body forces me to.

  2. Hey,

    I was wondering what you meant by “megadosing Omega 3’s?” I’ve been taking 3 times the reccomended amount on the bottle b/c I read that for RA we need (was it 1000 or 10,000) mg to make a difference.

    Anyway, I guess I was just curious how much you took, and if you know why we ae supposed to take so much. I must say, since I’ve begun trippling the dose, I’ve seen an amazing difference. Also – what is hte aloe vera juice for?

    And finally, if you don’t mind, I think I’m going to make your site my link of the week. It will drive more traffic your way, and I think yours is a blog that holds a unique place that has been up ’till now neglected. I hope you’ll like that idea. I’ll check back here for the answers to my other questions. Thanks!

    -RA SB

    • RA SB,

      I actually have a consult with my naturopath in a few minutes. He is across the country from me. Found him on satellite radio. He has been a Godsend. I’m at a crossroads right now with the whole med.s vs. no med.s. and let’s not forget breastfeeding. Will be sure and get back to you about your questions as soon as I get a chance. And girl, that would be so super sweet and awesome of you to have a link to my blog. Love the idea. : ) Thank you. You were among my prayers this morn. for all my sisters and brothers battling out there. Talk to you soon!

      • RA SB,

        I am following the guidance of my naturopath. He is a God fearing, educated and knowledgable man. So, I’ve trusted him. If I begin taking medications, I will continue to consult with him for guidance in how to support my liver and my immune system. I will continue to do most of what I am doing now almost exactly as I am doing it now in combo with the med.s.

        I personally take 3200 mg of an omega 3 product manufactured by my naturopath (in two divided doses of two giant softgels). I only take supplements that are of the highest quality possible. And I’ve really learned to listen to my body and can tell when I am a little off track with supplementing. And I’m just taking the basics. The aloe vera juice is great for the stomach. I drink a few ounces in the morning at least 30 min. before I eat. Does wonders to keep my gut healthy (and keep you regular!) and studies have shown that it is beneficial for joints and immune function. So, I figure, chug a lug! I’ve come to like drinking it. I even apply it to my face at night before I go to bed. Good stuff. WarmSocks has a great picture of her aloe plant up right now. Told her I need to grow one. And I’m guessing we need to mega dose because we are at war. You know? I am so glad to hear that you noticed a difference when you upped the dose.

Leave a Reply

